Remember this?

Well, I’m not thirty any more.  But I never concluded this list, so I thought, hey, I’m supposed to be writing a midterm, so this would be a perfect time to wrap up that sucker.

 

1.    Watch 1 movie a month with Noah.  I’ve forsaken movies for readily available tv on the internet or dvds.  He jokes that I’m not the same woman he married (the woman who made copious bucket lists of classic movies to watch).  I might argue that television was my first media love, but who could argue with a cute boy who wants to cuddle on the couch for a couple hours?

I probably did not accomplish this.  We have watched several movies together recently, and I’ve enjoyed it.

2.    Finish 9 (more) credits towards my masters degree.

Check!  I’ve now finished 21 credits with 6 more in the works.

3.    Actually apply to be admitted to the masters program, as I’m currently enrolled as a non-degree seeking student.

Check!

4.    Apply for 3 scholarships.

This did not happen.  I remain grateful, however, for my employer’s assistance with tuition.

5.    Don’t get pregnant.

Done!

6.    Plant wild strawberries as ground cover in the front yard.

Done, but the results have not been fabulous.  Hoping for a better season next year.

7.    Visit the Galapagos Islands.

Check!

8.    Blog a couple of times a month about life and living in Grand Rapids, including at least one house tour.  (8a. Purchase a camera to make this possible!)

Nope.  Nope.  Yes.

9.    Send 1000 people into the city for a one-day service-learning project.

Yes!  Heck, I’ve don this TWICE since I set the goal.

10.  Go camping with our little family for the first time.  …and maybe the second time as well, as talk of spending time with family and friends this summer has two different camping trips on the table.

That happened.

11.   Take a stab at caring for my body with weight watchers and/or exercise classes offered at work.

I have taken a stab at it…perhaps next time I make one of these lists I’ll be more specific, hehe.

12.   Go on one date with Noah each month.

Ah, sadly, this probably has not happened.  If I were writing this list again, I’d up the anty and suggest that we send the kiddos to the grandparents for a weekend, and not for work, which is usually the reason for our kids to spend weekends with grandparents.

13.   Finish my edits for our church’s website.

I think this did not happen. uclh.  Since I’m taking a nonprofit technology class now, I’m having huge guilt about it. 

14.   Make thank you gifts for Jonah’s Children’s Church teachers.

Ah, this is another source of guilt: not done.

15.   Start a toddler art group: plan the first few meetings ahead of time; using free or very cheap materials; bringing different parent-friends together.

Hm.  Nope.  Next time around.

16.   Clean the basement.

Uchg.  No.

17.   Organize the garage.  Isn’t this a dreamy plan? http://makingitlovely.com/2010/03/10/ideas-for-an-organized-garage/ Did you even know a dreamy garage was possible?

I think this happened, but it surely isn’t dreamy.

18.   Read a book of my own choosing (not tied to obligations of school or work).

Yes!  I’ve read lots of non-school/work books, actually.  I’ve maybe gotten too good at this.

19.   Visit a town in Michigan I’ve never been before.

hmmmmm.  I went to Saugutuck in the summer of 2011.  Does that count?

20.   Back up the files on our computer.

Ha!  I just bought an external harddrive!  …but I haven’t done anythign with it yet.

21.   Make something for mothers’ day and fathers’ day…and deliver the things to the mothers and fathers.  ;)

eesh…?

22.  Get a new doctor and visit the new doctor.

No.  Sad.

23.   Make a playlist of songs that bring me delight.

Oh, thank you, Spotify.  I have a zillion playlists now.

24.   Host a summer party.

I do not think this happened.  (See above, 21 credits for grad school: finished.)

25.   Frame the last 3 photos for the gallery wall.

Nope.

26.   Eat local during the summer months, hopefully through membership in one of greater Grand Rapids’ CSAs.

My, oh, my, I have never eaten so local.  I love you, New City Urban Farm.

27.   Teach kiddos more songs.  One of my greatest joys this week has been Babycakes singing along to this album: http://www.youaremyflower.org/home.html.

Oh, hearing E sing is still a great joy.  Most recently it’s Ingrid Michaelson’s Everybody in the car.  I’d like to be more intentional, especially with church songs so that they are more inclined to participate in worship.

28.   Figure out my sewing machine and sew a table-cloth.

Nope.  Gotta get that sucker fixed.

29.   Make artwork for Jonah’s room and Eden’s room to fit frames we already have.

oh, my.  They’re rooms have exploded with their artwork.  We desparately need to contain it somehow….

30.   Get my pearl earrings fixed.

Dear Noah fixed them for me and the broke again soon after.  😦

 

Well, honestly, I accomplished more of those than I’d expected when I set out to update this list.  I can deal with it. 

Leave a Reply

