Pre-holiday Style Cure

I don’t know why I feel self-conscious about things, but I feel a little self-conscious about some things.  Right now, I feel self-conscious that I’m writing this public (if anyone were to find it) blog about my real-life participation in the event of a virtual community.

Eh.  Whatever.  I also want to do something creative, generative, and Apartment Therapy’s Style Cure seems like a way, both practical and aesthetic, to work it out.

So, first, yesterday’s assignment to know my(our)self.

Favorites

M: Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Coach and Mrs. Taylor on Friday Night Lights; Diebenkorn and other 20th century artists, local artists that help me feel connected to place, community, to their stories (including my children); non-fiction authors, journalists; Patty Griffin, Fun., Avett Brothers, Elizabeth Mitchell, Janelle Monae; Brick Road Pizza; Prius; Friends, Family Ties, Parks and Rec, Project Runway; Banana Republic, Lands End, J.Crew, leggings, sweaters, skirts and fit/flare dresses, contrasting colors, solids or bold patterns; Ikea, C&B, StonesThrow, West Elm.

N: Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Jennifer Garner; C.S. Lewis, Wangari Maathai; Vampire Weekend, Propaganda; Marie Catribs; {right about here someone fell asleep, so liberties may be taken}  Prius; SNL, Modern Family; Gap & company, polo shirts and sweaters, sweaters with ties, blazer and pants, slip on shoes; C&B, StonesThrow.

Personal style:

M: Modern, comfortable, energetic.

N: Understated, simple, natural.

Favorite rooms:

M: my childhood bedroom, full of collected images, collage, art, color; current living room, inspired by the bright blue and green of summer with an energetic neutral foundation (orange-toned wood walls, textured beige couch, white and black Stockholm rug)

N: tbd at a later date, perhaps.

Role model:

M: Engaged, creative, committed women (colleagues, my kids’ teachers, women from church, my mom, my mother-in-law, my grandma. Hillary Frank, Cokie Roberts, women in local politics, the aforementioned Tina Fey & Amy Poehler); savvy community organizer friends; any one who faithfully fights for community’s rights.  –> tenacity, belief, commitment.

N: Wangari Maathai; self-aware white men, prophets.  –> faithful, shalom-seekers, committed.

Just right:

M: Eden’s desk; apples overflowing in the white bowl on the table; Eden’s drawing hanging from a clipboard in Sam’s room.

N: tbd

A month from now:

M: Inviting, cozy, personal, comfortable

N: tbd.

cropped-lr-2.jpg

Leave a Reply

