Image

grad school

Allow me to quote my from my strategic planning textbook.  Ahem.  “The first four steps of the process are designed deliberately to slow things down so that there is enough information and…[blah, blah, blah]….  More collquially, the process is designed to increase deliberators’ knowledge so as to avoid too much bullshit.  As Frankfurt (2005, p. 63) notes, ‘Bullshit is unavoidable whenever circumstances require someone to talk without knowing what he [or she] is talking about'” (Bryson, 2011, p. 56).

Somebody’s not in private, Christian schools anymore!

ha, I should note, that italics of the world bullshit–that little typographic cue in a textbook that might lead one to look for a glossary in the back of the book–not my edit for emphasis.  Lesson learned?  Bullshit is a technical term, my friends.

Seems I’ve chosen the right grad program after all: this passage rings as true as any I’ve read in 3 semesters of the program.

sp book

Leave a comment